Customer Reviews of The Sneaky Chef
Hi Missy August 21, 2007
"I just purchased your book and a 3 cup processor this weekend and I am thrilled to report that it has worked!!! I am the proud mother of 3 year old twins - My Daughter Elayna will eat and try just about any food, but my son is a different story. Spencer only eats a handful of things - PB & J, chicken nuggets, fish sticks, grilled cheeses, man n cheese, applesauce, raisins and milk. The past 2 years have been unbelievably frustrating trying to get him to try new foods or get a veggie into him. His is also a food detective. I spent Sunday preparing a few of the purees and he has eaten things with them in it for the past few days without knowing. BREAKTHROUGH ..... He ate the grilled cheese with orange puree on Sunday, Mac n cheese with Orange puree tonight and the past 2 mornings I gave him a whole wheat waffle with greeen puree mixed into peanut butter on top. I am so relieved to know that in the small concentrated amounts he is getting some vitamins and benefits from these hidden veggies. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for helping me to keep my son healthy! PS - For the past 2 days Elayna ate elbow macs with the green puree as sauce, she begged me for it!"
- "Sincerely, Danielle Frost"
GREAT READING! August 28, 2007
"As a pediatrician, this is a great book for parents looking to have information of what is best for their child's diet. Easy to read and follow."
- "John J. Mangoni MD 'pediatrician'" (Pasadena, CA USA)
Fantastic Book! August 11, 2007
"I bought this book for my two grand babies ages 5 and 2. My daughter was always trying to get them to eat vegetables, but with no luck. Using this book, she has been able to sneak pureed vegetables into everything...even Spaghettio's and the kids love it! And are you ready for this...they are asking for more. I would recommend this book to anyone with a picky eater, young and old alike, it is a healthy and nutritious way to get your veggies and enjoy your food."
- "Tippy Grandma Donna" (Bend, OR USA)
Just what I was hoping for. August 10, 2007
"This is a great cookbook with realistic, nutritious recipes that actually taste good...to adults and my 4-year old. It's so great to see my son eating foods that he would never eat, such as carrots, spinach, wheat germ, blueberries. If he knew what he was eating, he wouldn't even try it. At first the recipes take a bit of time, but after you make ahead some of the ingredients, it gets easier and quicker. My husband and I enjoy the food too. There are also lots of "quick-fix" recipes, so you don't have to spend alot of time making something from scratch; you just add something nutritious to something ready-made. This is the only way I've gotten my son to eat vegetables since he was a baby."
- "JamesMom"
What an amazing resource! August 6, 2007
"If you have picky children at home, then this is the answer to your prayers! This book is full of recipes and ideas to help you sneak fruits, veggies, and whole grains into their diets and ensure they're getting the nutrition they need. Thank you Missy Chase Lapine for this amazing book!"
- "J. Lancaster"
Life changing! July 20, 2007
"My picky eater loves the purees in her food, every sauce now has carrot, sweet potato, cauliflower, zucchini, it's amazing. The kids LOVE the brownies with spinach and blueberries, too. Honestly, changed our life, thank you, I love being a Sneaky Chef!"
- "Cecily E. Harrison"
Thank you so much for writing this book! June 30, 2007
"Dear Missy, Thank you so much for writing this book! I cried (tears of joy) the night I first read it. I cried again the night my 7 year-old son ate his first vegetables in many years, hidden in your Power Pizza!

When my son was 2 and a half, my husband was sent to Kuwait for 6 months with the Army National Guard. At the time my son was a good eater, but slowly began eliminating fruits and vegetables from his diet.

My husband was called up again when my son was almost 4, this time he went to Afghanistan for a year. While his dad was gone, my son continued eliminating anything nutritious from his diet.

Now, at age 7, Dad is back and we are all very thankful, but my son still refuses to eat vegetables and only eats raisins on rare occasions for fruit! He has whittled his diet down to pizza, pancakes and fast food chicken nuggets, cheeseburgers and french fries!

I was at my wit's end, thinking my son might not just be a picky eater, but might have a feeding problem (texture is definitely an issue), when I got your book. Now, I have hope, knowing that my son will benefit from the wonderful recipes in your book. He loves the pizza, which he now eats several times a week, and he gobbled up the chocolate chip cookies last night!

Thank you for giving me hope, and for giving me the tools I needed to start getting my son to eat healthier, the sneaky way!"
- "Debbie"
Thank God for Missy Lapine! June 28, 2007
"This book is truly amazing. I have two children who won't eat a mini-carrot between them, and they are now downing veggie after veggie without suspecting a thing!! Here is the funny thing- it works on my husband too! He claims he doesn't like sweet potatoes, but he has eaten them in so many things now- I just wait and tell him afterwards (haha, guess what you just ate?!). Do I feel guilty about sneaking veggies? Not at all! Whatever I can do to help my family be healthier, I would do in a heartbeat. I have a couple of hints- first of all, buy all of your veggies at once and spend about 3 hours one afternoon once per month making the five most common veggie purees. Pour them into individual serving size freezer bags and then put all of the little bags into a gallon bag (one per type of puree), label them, and you are good to go! This is much easier than trying to puree veggies for each meal, it would become so time-consuming that you would be tempted to change your mind at the last minute and make something easier (and less healthy). I grab a bag out of the freezer, quickly defrost and then stir it in with the kids mac n' cheese, chocolate pudding, and all sorts of other "treat food" that all of a sudden become vitamin-rich dishes. I also pre-make some of the breading and flour mix too, and keep them vacuum-packed...it really simplifies things at dinnertime. Likewise, I make the breakfast cookies in a triple recipe, and save them and freeze them for a quick, easy and healthy breakfast. The meat recipes in this book are also excellent- the sloppy joes, meatballs, and the meatloaf- as well as the baked ziti and the pizza- are especially fabulous. This is the first book that I have felt compelled to write a review about, but I felt I absolutely had to do it! We have been eating almost exclusively on recipes from this book for a month now and we all feel so much healthier. Kudos to Missy Chase Lapine! Thank you!"
- "KMH" (Charleston, West Virginia United States)
I can't say enough good things about this book!! May 30, 2007
"This book is truly amazing. I have two children who won't eat a mini-carrot between them, and they are now downing veggie after veggie without suspecting a thing!! Here is the funny thing- it works on my husband too! He claims he doesn't like sweet potatoes, but he has eaten them in so many things now- I just wait and tell him afterwards (haha, guess what you just ate?!). Do I feel guilty about sneaking veggies? Not at all! Whatever I can do to help my family be healthier, I would do in a heartbeat. I have a couple of hints- first of all, buy all of your veggies at once and spend about 3 hours one afternoon once per month making the five most common veggie purees. Pour them into individual serving size freezer bags and then put all of the little bags into a gallon bag (one per type of puree), label them, and you are good to go! This is much easier than trying to puree veggies for each meal, it would become so time-consuming that you would be tempted to change your mind at the last minute and make something easier (and less healthy). I grab a bag out of the freezer, quickly defrost and then stir it in with the kids mac n' cheese, chocolate pudding, and all sorts of other "treat food" that all of a sudden become vitamin-rich dishes. I also pre-make some of the breading and flour mix too, and keep them vacuum-packed...it really simplifies things at dinnertime. Likewise, I make the breakfast cookies in a triple recipe, and save them and freeze them for a quick, easy and healthy breakfast. The meat recipes in this book are also excellent- the sloppy joes, meatballs, and the meatloaf- as well as the baked ziti and the pizza- are especially fabulous. This is the first book that I have felt compelled to write a review about, but I felt I absolutely had to do it! We have been eating almost exclusively on recipes from this book for a month now and we all feel so much healthier. Kudos to Missy Chase Lapine! Thank you!"
- "Amazon Shopper"
Fantastic! Fantastic! Fantastic! May 10, 2007
"Tried lasagna, brownies, breakfast cookies, chicken tenders, shakes, all were delicious (4yr old son 18 month son, mom and dad reviewed)! Highly recommend this book! We do have a healthy household to begin with, but, I have made these recipes for extended family members who have raved at the taste, all without any idea of my healthy ingredients! If you are skeptical, really give it a try, puree well, and start to enjoy some great recipes."
- Amazon Reviewer "jennyzear"
Fantastic recipes May 26, 2007
"I purchased this book after I saw it on the Today show and have loved it so far. I have found it to be useful for my son and husband, both inconsistent veggie eaters. The amount of veggies in a recipe aren't necessarily a large amount but if you sneak them in on a regular basis, it will really add up. I also like that the recipes have led me to add healthier ingredients to other recipes I prepare and think outside the box so to speak. It's been healthier for the whole family. We have tried the meatloaf, mashed potatoes, chicken parm, homemade pasta sauce, mac n cheese and alot of the add-ins with strawberry and blueberry juice. Everything wasn't just edible, it was awesome! My son ate everything and my husband didn't complain if he didn't know what was in it (he hasn't grown out of the "it looks/sounds yucky" syndrome).

To the reviewer who said it was too much preparation: it can be if you try to do everything right at meal time. I have a 5 month and 19 month old and don't have alot of time to spend fixing meals so initially I picked out one puree, added the ingredients to my weekly grocery list and found the time to make just the one puree only during the week. It was really quick-I cooked the veggies in the microwave, pureed them in the food processor and scooped it into an ice cube tray and froze it. The next day I popped the cubes into a labeled freezer bag and now I just pull a few cubes out and defrost when needed. Start small: buy a box of mac n cheese and add some previously prepared puree. It doesn't take any more time than just making plain mac n cheese. If you have time to make regular meatloaf, then you can make this meatloaf if you have some puree stashed in the freezer. Trust me, I am the queen of the meal in a box and have managed to pull together one or two of these a week to start."
- Amazon Reviewer "mk's mom" (lake city, fl)
This cookbook rocks! May 13, 2007
"Looking for a way to eat healthfully while still putting things on the table that your children will actually try? Then this is for you! I have made recipe after recipe out of this cookbook, served it to my husband, kids, neighbors and houseguests and have gotten rave reviews across the board. The recipes are simple, none of the ingredients are outlandish or require gourmet cooking skills, and best of all, my kids like the food. My one year old would eat the Bonus Burgers every day if I'd serve them to him. My favorite dessert recipe is a brownie recipe which includes spinach, blueberries, wheat germ and whole wheat flour!

I have a lot of cookbooks and hate it when you like one or two recipes but otherwise never use the cookbook again. This has many good recipes. Also, I have a child with severe food allergies and have had no trouble using the recipes to feed him. Happy cooking!"
- 3 births of my own "ranger_cco275"
If only I could set back the clock 8 years! May 1, 2007
"I sure wish I had this book when my first child was younger - but no sense beating myself up about it...I'm a sneaking machine now baby!!! I'll be honest - I scanned most of the book, but focused primarily on the Puree recipes and Better Breading. In my opinion - these are worth the price of the book alone.

You get a dozen or so recipes for Orange (carrots and sweet potatoes), or White (Cauliflower and Zucchini) purees along with an awesome breading formula (for topping or frying things like chicken fingers etc...). I make these in large batches (about 4-6 cups at a time) and separate into snack sized zip lock bags (about 1/4 cup each - the most common serving size), label and freeze. When you need them - they defrost quickly, I cut off the corner of the bag and squeeze it out like one of those cake frosting bags!

There are several good recipes for using the sneaky purees - but once you've made 2 or 3 you'll find that you can sneak these babies into almost everything you make from breakfast through dinner and dessert. I am not exaggerating the enthusiasm I have for this book. My whole family is eating 10 times better than we ever have."
- K. Haase (Alpharetta, GA USA)
Picky or Finicky Eater? No Problem! April 24, 2007
"Most moms will tell you that at some point, their child is a picky or finicky eater. There are only so many meals of mac and cheese, hot dogs, and chicken nuggets you can manage before you start looking for help. You want your child to eat more nutritional foods, but when they snub everything except what they've decided to eat, it makes it nearly impossible! The Sneaky Chef by Missy Chase Lapine has the perfect solution for any mom looking for a way to get their picky eaters to include more nutritional foods in their diet.

In addition to being a recipe book filled with kid-friendly foods that they love, The Sneaky Chef explains how issues of control are what empowers the picky eater. Children don't have to eat poorly. They can enjoy nutritional and tasty food, which will help them fend off the childhood obesity monster that is creeping its way into the American household. Lapine gives many examples and reasons for "sneaking" the good stuff into their favorites, while making it easy for mom.

The book is arranged in a fashion that is easy to read and easy to reference. It includes lists of foods that kids believe to be the good, the bad and the ugly. More lists include staples to buy, important foods to buy organic if possible, the most contaminated foods, and the tools you need to make your sneaking work best. Plus, in Chapter Five, you will read all about "The Sneaky Chef's Bag of Tricks," where you will learn to be the queen of sneaking nutritional foods into their favorites. Tricks include methods to combine foods (the sneaky way, of course), the health benefits of those tricks, and even how to make the food visually appealing for children so they dive right into their meal! There are thirteen total methods used to make your child's favorites into something healthier! It's a win-win situation!

The second half of the book covers actual recipes you can use for breakfast, lunch, snacks, dinner, treats and drinks. These are things that kids already love, but prepared in a way that makes you feel better about what they are putting into their mouths. Imagine your children eating things like peanut butter cookies, burgers, fries, pizza, pasta, chicken, meatloaf and even cheese dip without cringing from the lack of nutrition making it past their lips! The recipes are easy to follow, aren't full of ingredients you've never heard of (or rarely use), have nutritional highlights and many have variations you can use to tweak to your liking.

Not only is this clever book a good educational reference, but it's a must have for every mom on the block. Please your children (and their palate) while giving them vitamins, vegetables, protein, fiber... and the list goes on! The Sneaky Chef is a book that lives up to its name, and then some!"
- Rachael Towle "JediMommy" (Huntsville, AL USA)
A Must-have for Parents! April 4, 2007
"Wow! I bought this book and tried out a couple of recipes right away... my kids wolfed down the spaghetti (with hidden sweet potatoes) and later the mac and cheese (with hidden cauliflower). Couldn't be simpler! This book is an absolute god-send for parents. I'd recommend it for anyone who has finicky kids (or even for adults -- I can't wait to try the Brainy Brownies.)" - Maugham Fan "Guin"
"Your book certainly is a wonderful primer on cooking and loaded with enough information for 2 books. Thanks again!"
- Chef Darrel Anderson
"Missy, OK. I will not embarrass you by calling you a genius, but I will say that you are pretty close. The purple puree worked like a charm and Oliver was asking for more hamburger after eating two large burgers! Emily and I are thrilled, and will spread the word about the book! Thanks again!"
- Brett Topel, Art Director of National Magazine & his wife Emily, First Grade Teacher
"In my world, ingredients and presentation are everything. In Missy's world - where she's helping kids to eat healthier - the same rules actually apply, but it's trickier because kids have their own idiosyncratic ideas about what looks and tastes good. I am very impressed with the way she has artfully disguised the best ingredients inside interesting recipes that children will enjoy eating. I think The Sneaky Chef is a brilliant and timely concept, yet one that is not easy to execute. Missy, however, is the one person who can turn it into a household name. Her creative genius and knowledge base are the two things that will make this book, in my opinion, an outstanding success."
- World-renowned chef, DANIEL BOULUD
"As parents and doctors, we are always seeking real life solutions to the problem of getting our kids to eat healthier. We attended a cooking workshop with Missy Chase Lapine and the results were absolutely amazing. This woman has mastered the art of sneaking foods into meals that the kids normally wouldn't touch with a ten-foot pole. Not only that, she made it incredibly easy to incorporate these methods into our busy lives. She has changed mealtime for our family. We've been referring our friends to her workshops, and now we will enthusiastically recommend this book to them and to our patients. We honestly believe that this book is indispensable for any parent who cares about their kid's health."
- ANASTASSIOS KOUMBOURLIS, M.D., M.P.H., Chief, Pediatric Pulmonary Medicine, Schneider Children's Hospital, and PETRA KAUFMANN, M.D., M. SC., Assistant Professor of Neurology, Columbia University
"Hi Missy: Thanks for your wonderful class at the New School -- Mission Impossible. I have made up my purees and am sneaking them into meals now. I'm following up with you for that recipe for the delicious peanut butter and jelly muffins that you served us. They were delicious, and now that I'm on this diabetic diet, am craving them myself, forget about my son! Can you please send it to me? Thanks very much. And good luck with your book project."
- Y.T. (the mom who's expecting twins)
"Missy, I started reading the book; it's hugely informative. I had my sitter make the meatballs tonight for dinner and I can't tell you what it was like to FINALLY have Jackie eat something healthy for dinner (versus the usual frozen, white flour waffles). I can't thank you enough for these recipes. They are easy to follow and best of all it was ONE meal for the entire family versus the usual six for all the different taste preferences. Had to give you the feedback; so excited to try the other recipes."
- Julia H.W.
"I had the pleasure of attending one of Missy Chase Lapine's, aka "The Sneaky Chef" workshops. I was skeptical since my kids are basically good eaters. I learned how to make them even better eaters. I went right to work that night and my children loved the new recipes. They had twice the number of vegetables they normally eat. I can't wait till the book comes out. It's a simple yet ingenious way to improve your children's eating habits."
- M.S.
"Hi Missy. Thank you so much for the cooking demonstration the other day at my house. I thought you might like to know that I made the baked ziti and my kids, including one friend of my 9 year old, all loved it and asked for more. I also made the pizza bagels as a snack yesterday for my kids and another friend and they loved those too. Do you happen to know what brand bagel it was that you brought? Thanks again and I am looking forward to getting the book."
- G.J.
"My kids, ages 2 and 4, were so picky. My 4 year old would not touch a vegetable. Now, he eats them daily using the purees and magic meatballs. He has tried all of the recipes that I have sampled so far and has no idea what he is eating!"
- Sharon C.
The Sneaky Chef is available at fine booksellers everywhere: